Contact Information

Institutional Review Board (IRB)

Dr. Louise Murray
Santa Rita Hall, 4th Floor
2 Convent Road
Morristown, NJ 07960-6989

Phone: 973-290-4430
Fax: 973-290-4488

Institutional Review Board (IRB)

The Institutional Review Board (IRB) was established to ensure that research conducted by faculty, students and staff promotes the College's commitment to honor the intrinsic worth of all individuals. Following federal guidelines, the IRB reviews proposals to assess the potential risks of participating in a research study and the degree to which individuals freely consent to participate. The IRB also considers researchers' safeguards to preserve participants' confidentiality. The Office of Institutional Research, which reports to the Vice President of Academic Affairs, supports the work of the IRB.

The IRB meets monthly during the fall and spring semesters. Summer meetings are scheduled as needed. Faculty interested in having timely reviews of student proposals are invited to contact the Chair to make arrangements.

Meeting Schedule

Researchers must use the IRB Submission Form and appropriate Consent Forms and submit to

Student research proposals must include a memo or other acknowledgement that your advisor approved your proposal.

IRB Meeting Dates and Application Dates

  • Febuaury 19 proposals due February 5
  • March 19 proposals due March 5
  • April 22 proposals due April 8
  • May 13 proposals due April 29


2013-14 IRB Members

The IRB consists of nine members: six elected full-time faculty, two ex-officio members, and a community representative appointed by the IRB. Of the six full-time faculty members, five are elected to specific terms representing the following disciplines: Business, Education, Ethics, Nursing, and Psychology/Sociology. A sixth full-time faculty member is elected at large.

The terms of office and their respective disciplines of the six faculty members are detailed below.

  • Faculty Members:
    Dr. Maria Checton (Health Care Management, 2013-2016)
    Paul LaChance (Ethics, 2011-2014)
    Dr. Anne Langan (Psychology, Sociology, 2011-2014)
    Dr. Keith Neigel (Education, 2013-2016)
    Dr. Michael Renahan (Business, 2012-2015)
    Dr. Ellen Specchio (Nursing, 2012-2015)
  • Medical:
    Susan Lasker, M.D. Director of Heath Services, ex-officio
  • Louise Murray, Chair, ex-officio as CSE Director of Institutional Research



How to Access the CITI Course

Visit for step-to-step instructions on how to register for the CITI course as a new researcher.