Athletic News Detail

  • Homect_img
  • Athleticsct_img
  • Teamsct_img
  • Degenhardt Named NEAC Coach of the Year, Jarmolinski Selected First Team

Degenhardt Named NEAC Coach of the Year, Jarmolinski Selected First Team

Degenhardt Named NEAC Coach of the Year, Jarmolinski Selected First Team

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. -- The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has announced its 2011-12 Women’s Basketball All-Conference Team selections. Saint Elizabeth senior Sabrina Jarmolinski (Lakewood, N.J. / Howell) was selected for the First Team and first-year head coach Nicole Degenhardt was named Coach of the Year.

The top 15 players, with first, second and third teams were selected by the conference coaches. Degenhardt was also selected in a vote of her NEAC peers.

Degenhardt, in her first season as a NCAA head basketball coach, piloted the Screaming Eagles to a 16-10 overall record and a 13-5 mark in the NEAC, good enough to earn the No. 2 seed in the South Division. That seed earned Saint Elizabeth the right to host the first-ever NEAC playoff game in school history.

Degenhardt, a native of Secaucus, N.J. who was a three-sport athlete at Division II Felician College, becomes the second female basketball coach in NEAC basketball history to be named Coach of the Year—the first since Carissa Ryan from Keystone earned the award in 2004-05.

Jarmolinski, a senior captain, was selected All-Conference for the third consecutive season – she was a second-team honoree following her junior season in 2010-11 and got a third-team nod as a sophomore in 2009-10.

This season Jarmolinski was the top offensive threat, statistically, in the NEAC. She averaged a league-best 21.1 points per game and led the NEAC with a 38.4 shooting percentage from beyond the 3-point line. Jarmolinski also finished second in the NEAC in rebounds per game (11.3).

On Jan. 8, at SUNY Cobleskill, Jarmolinski became the 10th player in Saint Elizabeth history to score 1,000 points in her career. Three times this season during the weeks ending on Dec. 12, Feb. 5. and Feb. 20, she was named NEAC Student-Athlete of the Week. Jarmolinski was also recently named ECAC Basketball Player of the Week.

This is the third consecutive season a Saint Elizabeth woman was selected to the NEAC First-Team; Maesoon Deeb earned the honor in 2010-11 and Sarah Kozlowski was tabbed in 2009-10.